Monday, May 8, 2017

10 Things I Can See From Here Book Review




Perfect for fans of Sophie Kinsella's Finding Audrey and Nicola Yoon's Everything, Everything, this is the poignant and uplifting story of Maeve, who is dealing with anxiety while falling in love with a girl who is not afraid of anything.
 
Think positive.
Don’t worry; be happy.
Keep calm and carry on.
 
Maeve has heard it all before. She’s been struggling with severe anxiety for a long time, and as much as she wishes it was something she could just talk herself out of, it’s not. She constantly imagines the worst, composes obituaries in her head, and is always ready for things to fall apart. To add to her troubles, her mom—the only one who really gets what Maeve goes through—is leaving for six months, so Maeve will be sent to live with her dad in Vancouver.
 
Vancouver brings a slew of new worries, but Maeve finds brief moments of calm (as well as even more worries) with Salix, a local girl who doesn’t seem to worry about anything. Between her dad’s wavering sobriety, her very pregnant stepmom insisting on a home birth, and her bumbling courtship with Salix, this summer brings more catastrophes than even Maeve could have foreseen. Will she be able to navigate through all the chaos to be there for the people she loves?


Anxiety is something that is more common and prevalent than you might think. If someone doesn't have it or suffer from it, they don't understand what those suffering with it go through. It's hard to explain, so it's nice to have a book like this that puts a spin on dealing with it.

It was an easy to relate to read and offered the reader a way of focusing on something other than their own anxiety and issues with dealing with stress. 

I would recommend this book for anyone looking to understand anxiety more, who suffers from anxiety and/or wants a good read.

This blog has affiliate links and sponsored articles. Check out my disclosure policy for more details.  

No comments:

Post a Comment